And so it begins…

Hello there!

Welcome to The SF Chronicles.  As I prepare for a new chapter in my life, I thought the best way to share it with everyone is through a blog.

I weighed my options of doing mass emails to family and friends versus starting a blog and I decided to go with the latter.  My decision came down to how my friend Katie went about it when she went to Botswana and Sierra Leone.

In Botswana, Katie kept a blog which documented her adventures.  When she went to Sierra Leone, she opted to communicate via email.  As someone on her mass email list, I loved receiving her email but I had a harder time keeping up with her stories.  When she blogged, I was always able to reference previous postings for background information and I was also able to more so see a growth in Katie.

With that in mind, I will be blogging about my big move to and then later on life in San Francisco.

San Francisco will be the fifth city I’ve lived in and the first city I’ll call home in the United States.  Other cities I’ve been fortunate to live in include: Brussels, Belgium; Hong Kong, Hong Kong; Honiara, Solomon Islands; and Toronto, Canada.

San Francisco marks a significant time in my life.  It will be the first new city of my adult life and one where I’m technically responsible for myself.  Unlike Hong Kong and Honiara, my family will not be there to guide me.  While I was studying abroad in Brussels during my undergrad (it was actually a small town near Brussels) I was there alone with no real responsibilities other than passing all my classes and my mom was wonderful enough to help subsidize it as part of my high school and university graduation gift.  While I was in Europe, my brother reminded me that my time in Belgium was a heightened reality and that traveling and living the way I did on exchange did not work that way in real life.

So thus, over the next year or so I will be chronicling my SF journey which will likely end up being a coming of age blog as well.  I have a little more than a month to go before heading off and I promise I’ll do a better job of keeping up with this one than I did with my failed Europe blog.

Feel free to join me on my adventure.

    • Alanna
    • October 27th, 2011

    You forgot Kingston!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

