My Anti-Climatic Experience With In-N-Out

For the past two months since I’ve lived with my housemate, she’s been raving on and on and on and on about In-N-Out Burger.

In-N-Out Burger is a fast food chain that is popular in Southern California and is what Tim Horton’s is to Canadians, In-N-Out is to SoCals.  Here are some reactions you’ll get if you mention In-N-Out to Californians,

Get it animal style.  It’s the best burger EVER!!!!

It’s like fast food but like really really high quality fast food.  Oh you’ll love it.

So, finally one night we headed over to In-N-Out because she was craving it and I was desperate to try something Californian and prove to myself (and everyone else) that I’m totally a local.  And here is how my meal went, graph-wise:

Note my level of excitement on trying something truly Californian.

My mood after I just ordered my meal and waiting in anticipation.

My meal... om nom nom

After the first bite...Ohhhh...Hmmm...

Marci is waiting for me to gush about the food but then notices my reaction.

It’s, you know, a really Californian thing, people get off the plane and the first thing they have is an In-N-Out Burger

Oh, how I can hear the defensiveness in her voice.

It’s not bad, it’s just…

People love it so much, there’s an iPhone app for it.

There’s an iPhone app for it?  Do you have an iPhone app for it?

She pauses

Yes but it’s because it’s so popular in SoCal that you need it for roadtrips

I smile at her in what I hope was my best encouraging, not judging you smile.

I get it, it’s like Tim Horton’s for us.

Ya but like the food is actually good.

Woah… back up Californian.  I just stared at her with my best evil eye which wasn’t really scary because when a Canadian gives you the evil, we just look like a puppy that’s going to lick you to death.

My housemate musters…

Well, the timbits are okay.

Everyone is entitled to their food opinions and no one is right or wrong when it comes to their food choices but in this case, Marci’s wrong.  In-N-Out wasn’t life changing and Tim Horton’s will forever be the first thing I eat when I get off a plane in Toronto. #sniff

    • Leigh Anne
    • January 13th, 2012

    Agree about the puppy licking comment. Canadians are too nice to tell people their food is no good.

    • My coworker Katie convinced her internet technician that being nice to a Canadian brings good luck! Spread the word, pass it on!

  1. As an American now living in the Toronto area, I must admit, timbits are awesome. And “when a Canadian gives you the evil, we just look like a puppy that’s going to lick you to death” is hilarious 🙂 Good stuff.

  2. In-N-Out is definitely NOT life changing. Tim Hortons on the other hand… hearing from non Canadians who have had it, it can be life changing.

    • Tim Horton’s also not that life changing but it’s comfort and reminds me of Toronto which I suspect is what In-N-Out is to many Californians.

    • piazzaobserver
    • January 17th, 2012

    Its like those times when people have hyped up your expectations of a restaurant, a movie, a clothing store (anything!) and then when you experience it your expectations are so high that reality can’t possibly match it so you end up disappointed. It’s inevitable. What you need to do is tell people something awesome is mediocre so that when they actually experience it they’re blown away!

    • Very true! My lesson with In-N-Out taught me not to try Chick Fil A on the South East coast.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

