A California Bucket List

Inspired by Katie on her 2012 Bucket List – Things to do before I am 30, I’ve put together my own bucket list of everything that I want to do in California while I’m living in this gorgeous state.

  1. Go to Disneyland.
  2. Spend a weekend in Napa and enjoy the good wine and good food.
  3. Learn to sail.
  4. Visit the Walt Disney museum in San Francisco.
  5. Join a wine club.
  6. Take a cooking class.
  7. Road trip it down from San Francisco to San Diego.
  8. Visit Laguna Beach and Newport Harbor… I need to create a clever hashtag that describes being a teenager/coming of age in the ’00s.
  9. Try surfing in SoCal.
  10. See San Francisco very own band Train perform in the Bay Area.
  11. Weasel my way into being a movie/television extra somewhere Hollywood, CA.
  12. Scuba Dive in the Pacific!
  13. Grape stomping in San Francisco.  I thought I was trying to be funny when I put this on my list but then a quick Google search showed that the Bay Area host several grape stomping festivals.

What would you have on your California bucket list?

Updated:

    15.  Visit Marcel the monkey from Friends at the San Diego zoo!

    16.  Camp in Yosemite Park

    17.  Visit Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens in San Marino.

    18.  Giant Sequoia National Monument

    19.  Go to Death Valley

    20.  Visit Lake Tahoe in the Summer

    21.  Follow the mission trail on El Camino Real

    22.  Watch the swallows come back to San Juan Capistrano

    23. See Kongo when you get to San Diego!


  1. How about visiting Zoo while in San Diego? I have heard that the Zoo in San Diego is beautiful 🙂

    • Marcel the monkey from Friends lives there! San Diego Zoo has been added. Thanks!

    • surroundedbyimbeciles
    • March 1st, 2012

    Go see the Giant Sequoia National Monument. I got lost there when I was a kid. My parents found me sitting on top of the car. Guess I was tired of looking at trees.

    • Lol hilarious! I’m surprise that you got lost but managed to find the car.

  2. I will always lobby for visiting the national parks, but don’t forget about Yosemite.

    • How could I forget about Yosemite!!!! Thanks for the reminder.

    • MJ
    • March 1st, 2012

    A bit strange and small compared to some attractions you’ve listed, but visit the Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens in San Marino. It’s an awesome mix of botanical gardens, museum, and rare-books displays. The picture in my blog header is actually from the Japanese section of the gardens. Plus, you can do it on the same trip to extra in Hollywood and kill two birds with one stone.

    • Ohhhh I love checking out libraries. Added to my list. Thank you my dear!

        • MJ
        • March 2nd, 2012

        It’s not a library in the sense of books on shelves, but rather old historical documents and (really) rare books. It has one of the three surviving Gutenberg Bibles! And a bunch of American History documents (peace treaties with the British, stuff like that). Really fascinating stuff.

  3. A great start…but there is soooo much to see in California.

    Re-read Cannery Row and go to Monterrey.
    Yosemite in the spring
    The Getty in LA
    Wind Surf on Zuma Beach in Malibu
    Napa is fine, but be sure to go to St. Helena
    Go to Mendicino County and stay at the Inn where they filmed “Same Time Next Year”
    Take the coast road to Big Sur, sleep in a yurt and then visit Hearst Castle
    Go to Death Valley
    Visit Lake Tahoe in the Summer
    Follow the mission trail on El Camino Real
    Watch the swallows come back to San Juan Capistrano
    And be sure to see Kongo when you get to San Diego!

  4. I’m SOOOO making one of these! Let’s go down to LA and then San Diego when I get to SF! lol. I even have a place we could stay in Santa Monica (right outside of LA) and a place in San Diego (if we get there before June 14!).

    I can’t wait to make my list! And to start crossing things off!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

